Originating back to the late 1800's as an industrial factory manufacturing forges for blacksmith shops and residential heating boilers, and then as an air handling equipment facility in 1896 known as Sheldon’s (founded by W.D. and S.R. Sheldon), this landmark building was extensively converted into loft-style living space in the heart of Galt.
The three-storey building was carefully renovated to ensure original elements, like the stunning brick and wood features, were restored and preserved to give prominence to its historical significance.
Fittingly named Blacksmith Lofts, the development offers 27 units ranging from 663 to 1,038 sq. ft. with soaring 13’ to 15’ ceilings. Some units offer architectural sliding barn doors, as well as the beauty of original wood slat ceilings and hardwood flooring.
This former Sheldon factory offers residents a blend of authentic loft living with a piece of Cambridge’s history.
Project completed under Certificate of Practice issued to Robertson Simmons architects inc. prior to firm name change to MartinSimmons Architects Inc.
26,511 sq. ft.
8,837 sq. ft. (footprint)
Orchard Design Studio Inc.